2024 Toyota Land Cruiser vs Lexus GX550: Is the Lexus REALLY Better?

I'd really like to know why they insist on putting the batteries in the cargo/people space...Making the cargo space on the LC (and the Sequoia for that matter!) smaller than what a 4Runner is working with. There is plenty of room between the frame rails. Also, I am not an engineer and I'm assuming there's a better reason for it than laziness LOL

*edited because I typed it dumberer

Last edited:
I'd really like to know why they refuse to put batteries in the passenger compartment, making the cargo space on the LC (and the Sequoia for that matter!) smaller than what a 4Runner is working with. There is plenty of room between the frame rails. Also, I am not an engineer and I'm assuming there's a better reason for it than laziness LOL
I think there are three reasons.
1. It can differentiate the LC and GX
2. It can save some budget on Chair Modularization development for different car
3. Supply chain and Parts availability (GX, LC, 2025 4runner are likely to have the same second row structure for the next 15 years)

I think that Toyota is stick to the LEAN manufacturing thinking mode.

I wasn't talking about the seats. I could...They are dumb for a two-row, but I agree with you about why they are they way they are. FYI, the 4Runner has had two different rear seat designs for the last 15 years.

I was talking about the batteries. They're taking up interior space, raising the load floor, and compromising how the cargo/people space is configured negatively. The Sequoia's cargo setup, along with a non-removable third row made me 100% cross it off my list. And it's because of the battery placement (and them cheaping out with a solid axle while bumping the price another 25%, but that's yet another diatribe).

And it's because of the battery placement (and them cheaping out with a solid axle while bumping the price another 25%, but that's yet another diatribe).