How much poke & weight is too much and other suspension wear worries

PhiloEpisteme

đź“› Founding Member
Aug 14, 2024
Ca
Vehicles
LC250
I'm new to Land Cruisers and off roading in general. I picked up an LC250 base model that unfortunately came with 20" rims. I'm looking into picking up a set of 18" wheels and either 265/70r18 or 275/70r18 tires.

I've read online that adding more weight to wheels and tires can expose the suspension and steering components to additional wear. At a high-level, my question is how serious of an issue is this?

Regarding tires, If I opt for the KO3s in 275/70r18 size or the Falkens Wildpeaks in the same size in the E load range, how negatively will the additional weight and width affect my setup in terms of handling and suspension/steering component wear? I'm in California and worried about sharp, volcanic rocks hence my interest in E rated tires. I would happily consider the Falkens in SL if they are sturdy enough to be reasonably resistant to flats/puncture from very sharp, volcanic rocks out here in CA.

Also, I'm having a hell of a time finding 18x7.5 wheels at 60mm offset to match the stock wheels and minimize poke. I'm not even really able to find a lot of options at 50mm offset in the 7.5" width. Regarding wheels, at what point should I worry about wheel width and tire poke causing wear/tear and performance issues with my setup? For example, if I went with an 8" wide wheel with the 275/70r18 KO3s, when is poke going to be an issue wrt to wear/tear & handling and what offset would I aim for with a setup like that?