Introduction - Tom W.

TW911

πŸ“› Founding Member
Jan 21, 2024
Manitou Springs, CO
Vehicles
Lexus RX450h, Toyota Venza, Mercedes Sprinter
Hi everybody,

I'm a resently retired engineer. I used to own a Tacoma and really enjoyed it. I'm currently driving a Lexus RX450h, which is a nice car, but I'm missing the off-road capability. I live in Colorado and really enjoy getting out camping, hiking and mountain biking. So that's why I'm interested in the new Land Cruiser.

Tom W.

Hello Tom, and welcome to the forum! I am sort of in the same boat as you, with a Highlander Platinum Hybrid. Not exactly an off-roading machine either. I am looking at both the Land Cruiser, and the sibling Lexus GX550. A GX550h has been promised, but availability date unknown. The GX550 is in production at the Tahara plant, so hope to have one before summer. Also, at the top of the queue for an LC, whichever occurs first, but who knows when they will start making them? I suspect there are production issues with the hybrids.

Last edited:
Welcome to the forum @TW911 - What do you think of the motor in the RX450h? Have you considered the GX550?

Welcome to the forum @TW911 - What do you think of the motor in the RX450h? Have you considered the GX550?
The engine in the RX450h is pretty good. It's responsive, and the milage is reasonable, about 25-28mpg, but the CVT makes it a little "spongy" or soft in response. It's not a sports car so it's fine for what it is.